Philo Brings You The 2023 VMAs

A graphic showing the VMA award.

Music’s Most Exciting Night is here!

The MTV Video Music Awards (VMAs) takes place this Tuesday, September 12, at 8 PM EST. The show will see top performances, a star-studded ballroom packed out at the Prudential Center in New Jersey, and our favorite artists recognized for their creative brilliance, culminating with the honor of taking home a golden moonman statue. 

And The Winners Might Be…

Taylor Swift secured the top spot among the nominees for the 2023 VMAs, earning a remarkable 11 nominations. Following closely behind is SZA with eight nods. Tied with six nominations each are BLACKPINK, Doja Cat, Miley Cyrus, Nicki Minaj, and Rodrigo. Next in line, both Kim Petras and Sam Smith have garnered five nominations each. Additionally, Beyoncé, Diddy, Drake, Ice Spice, Karol G, Metro Boomin, Shakira, and TOMORROW X TOGETHER have each received four nominations.

And Shakira and Diddy are already big winners ahead of the event. Shakira will be honored with the MTV Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award, while Diddy will receive the Global Icon Award. Both are scheduled to perform live at the VMAs.  

The Vanguard Award is given for “outstanding contributions” and “profound impact” on music video and popular culture. Shakira’s list of accomplishments is massive

Recent artists to win the award include Missy Elliot and Nicki Minaj. 

Diddy’s garnering of the Global Icon Award is given to an artist who has made an impact on a global scale. The Bad Boy Entertainment mogul is a force in music and entertainment, with a lengthy resume of success

Other artists to win the award in the past include Red Hot Chili Peppers and Foo Fighters. 

Live Show, Live Music

This year’s award show features performances from Anitta, Demi Lovato, Diddy (Global Icon Award recipient), Doja Cat, Fall Out Boy, Karol G, Kelsea Ballerini, Lil Wayne, Måneskin, Metro Boomin (featuring Future, A Boogie wit da Hoodie, Swae Lee & NAV), Nicki Minaj (emcee), Olivia Rodrigo, Peso Pluma, Shakira (Video Vanguard Award recipient), Stray Kids, and TOMORROW X TOGETHER. 

Scheduled presenters include: Bebe Rexha, Charli D’Amelio, Coco Jones, Dixie D’Amelio, Emily Ratajkowski, French Montana, GloRilla, Ice Spice, Jared Leto, Madelyn Cline, Rita Ora, and Sabrina Carpenter.

Are you ready to rock? Let us know in the comments who you think is going to bring home the most VMAs this year.


Leave a Reply

Related posts